Select Page


ATU President Dai-Soon Lee, Re-elected

?? From left, Sung Chon Hong(Council member of WTF), Dai-soon Lee, Kyu-seok Lee(SG of ATU).

Mr. Dai-Soon Lee, current President of the Asian Taekwondo Union, has been reelected.

On May 3, the ATU held a General Assembly in Ho Chi Minh city, Vietnam, where President Dai-Soon Lee was reelected for another period of 4 years.  

Originally, the candidate who stood for the presidency on this day was the Secretary General, Kyu-Seok Lee. Being the sole candidate, if there had been no opposing views on him, it would have been an easy road to success.

However, the Secretary General himself withdrew his candidacy and had Dai-Soon Lee reelected, arguing the importance of the current President’s role in the upcoming London 2012 Olympics and in the task of making Taekwondo a permanent official Olympic sport.  

No one in the General Assembly opposed to Secretary General Kyu-Seok Lee’s decision. Eventually, Dai-Soon Lee accepted the reelection, promising that he would work hard again to succeed in making Taekwondo a core Olympic sport and for the unity of the Asian Taekwondo Union. 

After the General Assembly, President Lee said in an interview: “I rejected the offer several times before accepting the members’ wish. I believe that it is my duty to work hard in order to have Taekwondo as a core Olympic sport. The world of Taekwondo needs to combine forces. I will work hard again during my new period in office.” 

President Lee was elected for the first time in 2000 as ATU President, and has been serving now for 3 consecutive periods of 4 years each. However, according to the WTF regulations, continental presidential elections have to be carried out again 6 months after the WTF presidential elections, which will take place in 2013. Therefore, President Lee’s position will be guaranteed for no more than 2 years.

The reelected President will choose the 6 Vice-Presidents and 15 members of the executive committee that should have been elected in the same meeting. 

Additionally to the election, the location of the following Asian Taekwondo Championships and Junior Taekwondo Championships were also decided.

The 2014 Asian Taekwondo Championships will be held in Uzbekistan and the 2013 Junior Taekwondo Championships and Junior Poomsae Championships will be held in Indonesia.


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *