Select Page


Korea Clinches Both Overall Men??s, Women??s Titles at 9th WJTC in Egypt

Korea won both overall men’s and women’s titles at the 9th WTF World Junior Taekwondo Championships, which concluded its five-day event in Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt on April 8, 2012.

In the men’s division, Korea grabbed four gold medals and three silver medals for a total of 89 points. Iran came next with two gold medals and two silver medals for 62 points, followed by Russia with one gold and two bronze medals for 44 points. Spain came next with one gold and one bronze medal for 38 points, followed by Chinese Taipei with one gold for 37 points.

In the women’s division, Korea won four gold medals for 73 points, followed by Russia with three gold medals and one bronze medal. Turkey came next with two silver medals and two bronze medals for 45 points, followed by Chinese Taipei with two silvers and two bronzes for 38 points, and Germany with one gold and two bronzes for 37 points.

The biennial championships, which took place at the Sharm El Sheikh Covered Hall, attracted a total of 753 athletes, including 424 males, from 90 countries. The championships were a great success for many reasons, especially in terms of fair judging and refereeing.

The Best Male Athlete honors of the championships went to Korea’s Yeong-seok Kim, the gold medalist in the men’s -55kg category, while Korea’s Byeol Choi, the gold medal winner in the women’s -44kg division, was selected as the Best Female Athlete.

The Best Referee Awards of the championships went to Azerbaijan’s Kwang-cheol Oh, Norway’s Stig Ove Ness, Mexico’s Jorge Reynoso Cruz, Vietnam’s Vu Xuan Thanh and Georgia’s Maria Merkouri.

Chungwon Choi was selected as the championships’ Best Coach in the men’s division, and Russia’s Igor Lazarev the Best Coach in the women’s division.

The fifth and final day of the championships featured four weight categories.

In the men’s -48kg division, Iran’s Abolfazl Yaghoubi Jouybari brushed aside a stiff challenge from Jordan’s Almuatasembellah Abuzaid to win the final match 7-5 for the gold medal. The bronze went to Turkey’s Ibrahim Ethem Pak and the Philippines’ Matnew Muhael Padilla.

In the men’s -68kg category, Spain’s Daniel Quesada Barrera needed a fourth sudden-death round to clinch the gold medal against Korea’s Dong-yun Shin. Portugal’s Andre Magone and Jordan’s Zaid Abuzaid each took home the bronze medal in the same weight division.

In the women’s -44kg division, Korea’s Byeol Choi needed only two rounds to clinch the gold medal with a point-gap victory against Chinese Taipei’s Shiao-Pei Wong. The score was 26-3 at the end of the second round. Mexico’s Leslie Torres Nava and Turkey’s Fatma Saridogan shared the bronze medal.

In the women’s -59kg category, France’s Magda Wiet Henin beat Sweden’s Nikita Glasnovic in the final match 5-3 to earn her country the gold medal. The bronze went to Germany’s Celik Yonca and Russia’s Aleksandra Dementeva.


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *