Select Page


Korea took 4 Gold on the first day of World Poomsae Championships

Korea took four gold medal on the opening day of the 6th WTF World Taekwondo Poomsae Championships at the Olympiets sports complex in Vladivostok, Russia on July 29, 2011.

On the first day of the three-day annual event, which drew about 570 athletes from 53 countries, Korea grabbed four gold medals and one silver medal, while Great Britain and Germany won one gold medal each.

A total of 18 gold medals are up for grabs at the Vladivostok World Taekwondo Poomsae Championships.

Chinese Taipei took one silver and twe bronze, while host Russia, the Philippines and Denmark earned one silver each. Turkey took three bronze medals, while Iran won two bronze medals.

In the men’s individual junior division, Korea’s Yu-seok Kim won the gold medal, while the silver went to the Philippines’ Vidal Marvin Gabriel. The bronze medals were shared by Turkey’s Habip Okeu and Iran’s Mohammed Aderi.

In the women’s individual junior category, Korea’s Sung-yae Cho earned her country the gold medal, while the silver went to Vietnam’s Thi Yhuy Dung Ngo. Chinese Taipei’s Ing Hsian Lee and Iran’s Negin Gilsamaei won the bronze medal each in the category.

In the men’s individual master 3 division, those aged 61 years and over, Great Britain’s Tongwan Shin won the gold medal, while Korea’s Kwang-il Park clinched the silver medal. The bronze went to the Netherlands’ Peter Wolfs and Colombia’s Oscar Posada.

In the men’s individual master 1 division, those aged 41 years and over, Korea’s Jae-young Eum grabbed the gold medal, while Denmark’s Dihn Dang Ky-Tu won the silver medal. The bronze went to Turkey’s Mustafa Yilmaz and Chinese Taipei’s Shuan-Tsung Lu.

In the women’s master 3 category, Korea’s Do-yeon An won the gold, while Russia’s Valentina Kontorina clinched the silver. Denmark’s Lis Boring won the bronze medal.

In the 2nd pair division, those aged 36 years and over, Germany’s Michael Bussmann and Elvira Fuhrmann teamed up to grab the gold medal, while the silver went to Chinese Taipei’s Chung-Tsung Lu and Han-Sen Chang. Spain’s Vazquez Alberto Francisco Delgado and Alcaniz Yolanda Ubero won the bronze medal together with Turkey’s Zeynel Celik and Nesime Altun.

<World Taekwon Media>

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *