Select Page


Mexico, USA and Canada dominate first day at Sucre 2012

Mexico, USA and Canada dominate first day at Sucre 2012

North American national teams were the clear dominators of the first day of competition of the Pan American Taekwondo Championships running in Sucre (Bolivia) until the end of this week. Mexico won two of the four gold medals of the day, followed by USA and Canada with one gold each.
The two categories chosen to be the focus of the opening day at Sucre were Bantam and Feather. In the Women’s Bantam contest the gold was awarded to the American Simone Devito, who surprised everyone at the Garcilazo Coliseum with an outstanding performance that made her win the title starting as the number 9 seeded. Devito began her journey to gold with a comfortable fight against the Aruban Aischal Van der Lindebeat, whom clearly defeated by 14 to 2, but had to face the favourite and number 1 seeded Ivett Gonda (Canada) already in the second round. The American caused a stir and ended Gonda’s golden dream with an amazing execution (8-3). After beating the great favourite, she seemed to be plenty of confidence and the Colombian Gladys Alicia Mora in the semifinals (5-4) and the Dominican Disnanci Polanco in the final (6-5) couldn´t do anything to stop her. The second bronze medallist was the Mexican Diana Lara Núñez.
But this was not the major surprise of the day. In the Women’s Feather competition, the Canadian Evelyn Gonda lift the title in spite of starting the contest as the worst seeded fighter (13rd). Gonda managed to deal with the American Nicole Palma (10-6) and the Guatemalan Coralia Abadía (5-3) in the first two rounds and had to fight to Doris Patiño, the number 1 seeded and main attraction of the draw, in the semifinal. The Canadian had nothing to lose against Patiño and took advantage of this, leaving all the pressure on the Colombian, who couldn´t handle the situation and lost 5 to 4. Even with Patiño out, the final didn´t look easy for Gonda, as the second seeded, the Chilean Yeny Contreras, had made her way to the crucial fight from the lower part of the draw. But Gonda decided not to be content with the silver medal and completed an amazing combat that appeared to be too much for Contreras (4-1). The Dominican Yelissa Montes was awarded with the other bronze.

Sucre 2012 Opening Ceremony

In Men´s Bantam, the triumphant of the event was Abel Mendoza Mora. The Mexican fighter survived to the Uruguayan Federico González in a very close first round combat (4-3) and got rid of the Argentinean Mauro Crismanich in the second one with a final score of 9 to 6. Mendoza, number 3 seeded, had to face the second favourite of the competition, the Brazilian Marcel Ferreira, in the semis, while the other semifinal of the draw was played between the number 1 seeded (Jairo Rijo, DOM) and the fifth favourite (Olie Burton III, USA). The level was really high, so the Mexican had to give his very best to first knock out Ferreira (2-0) and then defeat Rijo in the big final to reach the gold (4-2). Olie Burton III won the battle for the bronze.
The predictions were met in the Men´s Feather category, with the big favourite and number 1 seeded Idulio Islas Gómez turning to be the gold medallist. However, Islas began the competition far away from his best level and could only beat the Argentinean Jorge Álvarez after winning the golden point round (6-5). This close victory seemed to give him his confidence back and ended up being a turning point for the Mexican. Islas improved his performance and got rid of the American Nathanael Ahlstrom in the second round (10-7) and Luis Colón from Puerto Rico in the semis (7-2) to be in the final, where he showed his best skills to win over the Canadian Siddartha Bhat, whom he defeated by 9 to 6. The Chilean Mario Guerra reached the lower step of the podium taking the bronze medal.
We´ll keep you updated with the latest news from Sucre 2012!
Women’s BANTAM (-53 Kg.)
1) Simone Devito (USA)
2) Disnanci Polanco (DOM)
3) Gladys Alicia Mora (COL)
3) Diana Lara Nuñez (MEX)
Men’s BANTAM (-63 Kg.)
1) Abel Mendoza Mora (MEX)
2) Jairo Rijo (DOM)
3) Marcel Ferreira (BRA)
3) Olie Burton III (USA)
Women’s FEATHER (-57 Kg.)
1) Evelyn Gonda (CAN)
2) Yeny Contreras (CHI)
3) Doris Patiño (COL)
3) Yelissa Montes (DOM)
Men’s FEATHER (-68 Kg.)
1) Idulio Islas Gómez (MEX)
2) Siddartha Bhat (CAN)
3) Luis Colon (PUR)
3) Mario Guerra (CHI)

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *