Select Page


Nauru and FSM, 198th and 199th members of WTF

Nauru, situated in South Pacific, and the Federated States of Micronesia, a sovereign island nation in the north western part of the Pacific Ocean, became the 198th and the 199th members of the World Taekwondo Federation respectively.

Thanks to these new members, the WTF, along sides with the International Judo Federation, has become the 8th organization with most members amongst the International Sports Federation.

The Nauru Taekwondo Federation and the Federated States of Micronesia Taekwondo Association submitted the necessary documents for the membership on June 29 and July 12 respectively and after a thorough revision of the documents, the WTF granted both countries a temporary membership on July 13.

Given the temporary membership, these two federations must receive a final approval to become official members at both the Executive Committee of the WTF on July 28, in Vladivostok, Russia, and at the General Assembly held on May 2012, in Sharm el-Sheikh, Egypt.

Having achieved the temporary membership, the above federations are eligible to participate in competitions organized and approved by the WTF but until they become an official member, they are not entitled to exercise voting rights.

Due to the new registration of Nauru and the Federated States of Micronesia to the WTF, the number of the MNAs of the Oceania Taekwondo Union increased to 18.  The current number of MNAs in each continental union is: 45 countries in the African Taekwondo Union, 43 in the Asia Taekwondo Union, 49 in the European Taekwondo Union, and 44 member countries in the Pan-American Taekwondo Union.


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *