Select Page


Taekwondo, Olympic sport until Tokyo 2020!

Taekwondo, Olympic sport until Tokyo 2020!

The International Olympic Committee (IOC) has confirmed Taekwondo as one of the 28 sports that will be included in the 2016 and 2020 Games’ programmes during its 125th Session, which started yesterday in Buenos Aires (Argentina) with the selection of Tokyo as the host city of the 2020 Olympic Games edition.
During its meeting at the 125th IOC Session currently taking place in Buenos Aires, Argentina, the full IOC membership today agreed on the 25 sports that will form the core for the 2020 Summer Olympic Games. Tokyo was elected as the host city of the 2020 edition yesterday.
The 25 sports, as proposed by the IOC Executive Board (EB) in February, are: athletics, rowing, badminton, basketball, boxing, canoeing, cycling, equestrian, fencing, football, gymnastics, weightlifting, handball, hockey, judo, aquatics, modern pentathlon, taekwondo, tennis, table tennis, shooting, archery, triathlon, sailing and volleyball.
Wrestling, governed by the International Federation of Associated Wrestling Styles (FILA), will not be included on the list of core sports after Rio 2016, but, together with baseball/softball and squash, will vie for possible inclusion as an additional sport for the 2020 and 2024 editions of the Games in a second vote at around noon today. These three sports were shortlisted by the IOC EB in May to be put forward to the Session following an extensive evaluation by the Olympic Programme Commission.
In an effort to ensure the Olympic Games remain relevant to sports fans of all generations, the Olympic Programme Commission systematically reviews every sport following each edition of the Games.
Golf and rugby sevens were added in 2009 as additional sports to the 2016 and 2020 Olympic programme.
Source: IOC

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *